You are here : Saulge through the years > Stories and Legends

Saulge through the years

Stories and Legends

The Cemetry Cross

In time gone by, each cemetry was supposed to have one large cross to protect its dead and individual graves were not supposed to have their own cross. The cemetry at Saulge has two crosses. The first, stands tall and elegant welcoming the faithful as they enter the cemetry. The cross has a chalice at its base on one side and behind it is a diamond shaped shield. The narrow upright of the cross has been broken at some point as it is held in place by two metal staples.

The Hosanna Cross

Moyen Âge.

The second cross, which is much older than the entrance cross, is what is known as "une croix hosanniere". Its pedestal is round and made of carved stone and has a stone altar or altar of repose which was no doubt used for religious ceremonies. The thinner upright is made unusually of stone rings which sit one on top of another. The weathering that has occurred gives a clue as to its age. The cross which adorns its top, seems to have been put on upside down.

The Soldier's Tomb

XIX Century.

This tomb bears witness to the war in Mexico of 1863 - 1867. It was a war of conquest undertaken by the French Empire to create a "Catholic and Latin Empire" in South America. A young man from Saulge lost his life during that war and his body was lost. To honour his memory a cenotaph was built which bears the inscription "Armand Jean Bernier de Maligny, corporal in the "regiment etranger, 3eme Bon, 2eme compagnie born 17 June 1838 in Paris, killed 1st March 1866 fighting in Santa Isabella near Parras, Mexico. His still warm body was eaten by vultures. Under this stone, nothing".

Vous êtes ici : Saulgé autrefois > Histoires et légendes

Saulgé autrefois

Histoires et légendes

Croix du cimetière

Autrefois, chaque cimetière était pourvu d’une croix monumentale protégeant l’ensemble des défunts, les tombes individuelles ne devant alors pas toutes en posséder une. Le cimetière de Saulgé en comporte deux. Celle-ci, très haute et fine, accueille le fidèle dès son entrée près des sépultures. Un calice sculpté orne un côté du pied, et au revers un écusson à losanges en relief est tracé. Le fût mince a sans doute été cassé, car il est tenu par deux agrafes de métal.

Croix hosannière

Moyen Âge.

Semblant plus ancienne que l’autre croix du cimetière, celle-ci pourrait être une croix hosannière. Le socle rond est constitué de pierres de taille et porte une table d’autel – ou reposoir – qui a certainement permis des cérémonies religieuses à l’intention des défunts. Le fût est curieusement composé de tambours de pierre superposés. L’usure des joints témoigne de l’ancienneté de l’édicule. La croix sommitale semble quant à elle avoir été posée à l’envers.

Tombe de soldat

Seconde moitié du XIXème siècle.

Cette tombe constitue un témoin de la guerre du Mexique (1863-1867), guerre de conquête entreprise par l’Empire français afin de créer un « empire catholique et latin » en Amérique du Sud. Un jeune homme de Saulgé perdit la vie au cours de ce conflit , et son corps a été perdu. Aussi, pour honorer sa mémoire, un cénotaphe a-t-il été construit sur lequel figure l’inscription : « Armand Jean Bernier de Maligny, caporal au régiment étranger, 3ème Bon 2ème compagnie, né le 17 juin 1838 à Paris, tué le 1er mars 1866 au combat de Santa Isabella près Parras Mexique. Son corps chaud fut mangé par les vautours. Sous cette pierre, rien ».